That Comforter Of Yours Could Just Be A Home – Breaker !!!

I cherish peace of mind a lot. I will do everything to have it. One of my favourite quotes (actually mine) goes thus: “if you want to know the value of peace mind, ask those who have lost it.” One place that we need loads of it is in our homes. However, there is this group of people that have ruined this priceless jewel in many homes with their mouths. I call them home-breakers !!!

Home breakers are our friends, brothers, sisters, parents, mothers and fathers-in-law, colleagues, neighbours and other acquaintances, that some of us run to each time we have marital or family problems and rather than try to “quench the fire” in the home, what they do is to, consciouly or unconsciously, “pour petrol into the fire.” Imagine a man who had a quarrel with his wife and then runs to his friend. Who told him that his friend did not have marital issues too? The advice the friend gave to him was that he “should not allow your wife to treat you like a fool…prove to the her that you are the head of the family.” The man goes back home and after a slight provocation, he pounces on his wife and beats her to stupor. That friend is a disgusting home breaker !!!

I am one of the last persons on earth that would take his marital or family problems to outsiders to solve. These are people who may even be having worse family problems. If it comes to that, I would rather tell my Pastor, who, I am sure will take me on the path of peace rather than worsen the problem on ground. After six years of marriage, I have resisted that urge. That is one of the reasons why some people belief that I don’t use to quarrel with my wife 🙂

No matter how bad a situation might be, I strongly feel that “peace in the family” should be the guiding factor when people come to us with their family problems. Any advice or action that is capable of creating more problems MUST be avoided. Anything to the contrary makes one a disgusting home-breaker !!!
What does God have to say about this? Read this: “Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them. For they that are such serve not our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by good words and fair speeches deceive the hearts of the simple” (Romans 16:17-18)

We are also told that: “Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God” (Matt 5:9)

Wishing you marital and family bliss 🙂

Thanks for your time.

Related post:
Handling outsider involvement in marriages

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

5 Comments

  1. Been there, bought the t-shirt. Jesus even said it: “A man’s enemies will be of his own household.” For a long time I could not wrap my mind around that statement somehow. I hoped the Lord was just speaking of His own personal experience as the rejected Son of God. Later I learned that this is a principle found in all fallen humanity, including myself, especially. It’s something that only God’s grace can handle as it teaches us of The Son of God’s resurrection power faithfully living and working mightily within us. Do such enemies go away? Only by their transformed lives or maturity of age – or sadly, the grave.

    • Hello my friend. Your comment is laden with deep sense of thought. Even while putting the post together, I had a similar line of thought. But like you acknowledged, there are some things we hoped existed only in our imaginations. But sadly, they are real. Perhaps, the consolation is that tomorow will not produce such events as part of the story of our lives. Caution is the watch word. Thanks a lot for your visit and comment.

  2. Pingback: Flashback 4 : Wishing You … And I Family Bliss | Welcome to Michael Monday's Web Magazine

Leave a Reply

