Pause For A While …. And Count Your Blessings…

Have you ever been annoyed with God before because of one setback or the other?

Recently, my finances was not in a good shape. I needed to implement some plans that needed huge financial outlay. As I hit the road, I saw this physically deformed man who was begging to survive. He looked very hungry and unkept. But there I was wearing a nice pair of jeans, t-shirt and a pair of trainers, with a nice perfume. I had a nice breakfast of yam and fried eggs/tomatoes…reasonable cash in my pocket and just left my comfortable family behind at home.

As I saw him, I felt this guilt that forced me to start thanking God and beg for forgiveness for feeling so bad and complaining because of a temporary set back. Even in his condition, the beggar was still praying and acknowledging God (please don’t ask me how sincere he was with his prayers 🙂 ).

Actually, this kind of scenario has popped up a number of times – feel bad, complain to God, only to see someone who is obviously in a worse situation singing praises to God. Then guilt takes over.

One fact is indisputable – in every situation we find ourselves there is always some body out there who is in a worse situation. It boils down to the fact that at any point in time there is always soooo much to thank God for.

No doubt an unemployed man is certainly better than an unemployable person; the man who has just lost his job could become an employer tomorrow  a barren woman is certainly better than the one that has passed away; a man without shoes is certainly better than the man without legs; the man without legs says he is better than the man in the grave; the man who could not afford breakfast has hopes that food will come if he makes some efforts. He tells you it is better than being in the prison where he has no freedom of movement; the woman who lost her child at the point of delivery is better than the one who died during child birth…. there is sooo much to thank God for !!

A song writer once sang “count your blessings; name them one by one. Count your blessings, see what God has done. Count your blessings, name them one by one, and it will surprise you what the Lord has done.”

This was one of the songs I heard last Sunday in Church, and I thought of sharing a post on it on my blog.

So, one more time, I just want to say a big thank you to God almighty for all He has done, is doing and would do for me and my family….and you too. I pray He forgives us for all the complains that made us appear like ingrates.

So, count your blessings … and really, you will be surprised to know that God has done a lot ….

“Give thanks unto the Lord, call upon his name, make known his deeds among the people. Sing unto him, sing psalms unto him, talk ye of all his wondrous works.” -(1 Chron 16:8-9)

God bless us all.

 

Related posts :

If  God is on our side…

Relegating God to insignificance

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

